Hakuouki ~ Aika Yoshioka OP Collection

November 17, 2011

Toshizou Hijikata, co-captain of the Shinsengumi

Image source

I enjoyed the first two seasons of Hakuouki, a series based on an otome game about the Shinsengumi (a group of samurai in the Bakumatsu period, about the same time as the American Civil War). In addition to the two seasons of the TV series, an OVA series is being released with side stories. As I watched the first episode, I realized that once again the OP is a rather nice song by Aika Yoshioka. Aika has sung the OP for all three components of the animated series (as well as the various OP for the games) and I have linked to the OPs for seasons one and two in the past, but now that the new OP is out, I thought I would collect all three anime OP here so those interested can enjoy them.

Hakuouki: Sekkaroku ~ Yume no Ukifune

This is the new OP to the OVA, Hakuouki: Sekkaroku. I really like the way the animation tells a little story, with the leaf boat.

Hakuouki: Shinsengumi Kitan ~ Izayoi Namida

The OP for the first season.

Hakuouki: Hekketsu-roku ~ Maikaze

This is my favorite song of the three OPs. I particularly like the quick moving passage towards the middle.

Bonus! OPs from the games (more Aika Yoshioka)

Hey, who can get enough music in their life? Aika Yoshioka did the opening songs for the Hakuouki games as well, so here are some more songs to listen to.