Blood-C 12 (final) ~ warning: spoilers

September 29, 2011

In this censored image, a giant monster eats a human like a corn on the cob.

Blood-C was an extraordinary show. I will provide my overall thoughts in a separate spoiler-free post, but here I intend to comment on the series finale, which means this post is loaded with spoilers! Don’t read this post if you haven’t watched the series yet.

Now that the series is over, there are some interesting issues that are unresolved that I had thought would be. In particular, the “promise” was seemingly unrelated to the “test”. I thought that the questions the dog was asking would be more closely related to the mystery of the village.

Saya, uncensored.

There was a LOT of shocking violence in this episode. I don’t even think Saya getting a quarter of her head blown off was the worst of it. Seeing one of the twins ripped apart at the hip joints was pretty damned horrific. Even watching Itsuki, the class rep, get gunned down was pretty intense. Some have said that the scenes of nameless villagers being slaughtered lack impact, and I’ll admit that Tsutsutori-sensei’s death, though less gruesome, had more impact than some of the bizarre scenes of people being ground up, or having their heads twisted off like soda bottles. Still this episode was full of crazy explicit violence, and the horror of the Shrovetide, and the inhumanity of those that unleashed it, was plainly evident.

Speaking of those who unleashed it, I thought Yuuka’s scene with Fumito, where she asks to be governor of Tokyo was interesting. Beyond the mystery of Saya, we have a deep, if fantastic, critique of power. All of this was seemingly approved and monitored by the Japanese and American governments. In fact, Yuuka makes it clear that the path to power takes one right through the gruesome scenes of the Shrovetide. Fumito’s operation isn’t some criminal operation, attempting to grab power, they are the Powers That Be, who have always made the decisions that resulted in many “necessary” (or at least useful) deaths.

Personally, I think this was a pretty good close to the arc. We know there is a movie coming, but it will not be for the purpose of finishing off this arc, nor will it bring more of the same. Even Saya seems to be radically changed, first because she may now be missing an eye, and second because she is awakened, both from the hypnotic control and drugged coffee, as well as having control over her own power (as was made clear in the fight against Tadayoshi). On the other hand we have at least two escaped villains that can be used in the upcoming movie, if the show’s creators should so choose. This backstory makes Yuuka a compelling target for a revenge movie, and Fumito is far more of a monster, despite his humanity, than Saya can ever be.

So, how will the story of Saya, and Clamp’s Blood-C continue? I am very interested in seeing what happens next.

15 Responses to “Blood-C 12 (final) ~ warning: spoilers”

  1. Mira Says:

    I have to be honest, I really thought they dragged out the mystery too much and there wasn’t enough energy to sustain the show. I also felt that most parts of the show’s dialogue was poorly written and weren’t engaging enough. But this finale somewhat changed my opinion of the series. This episode was crazy but in a good, good way.

    I liked the commentary on power seen here, and I liked that the Shrovetide was indeed a means to sustain ‘order’ by sacrificing other humans. In the show’s theme of ‘feeding’ on one’s kind, it really makes sense.

    And seriously, if Blood-C TV was made to make people want to see the movie– they’ve pretty much succeeded. Oh CLAMP, you’re always a step ahead.

    • Joojoobees Says:

      I’m probably a poor judge of dialogue. At any rate I didn’t notice that as a major problem, but wouldn’t rush to defend it (or even know how to begin to do so).

      As you suggest, this series (perhaps more than any I have seen before) was backloaded. Not only was little progress made in unravelling the mystery until the very end, but there was retrogression as Saya was drugged and hypnotized. Then everything was upended in the final episodes. “Crazy, but in a good way”. Yes, I agree.

      Also, yes. Blood-C TV seems to be a bizarre character introduction, almost like a prequel, and the most serious stuff seems like it is only now ready to get started. I do think they set themselves up well for the movie, and I am definitely looking forward to it.


  2. […] My purpose here is to provide some final thoughts on the series without spoiling anything. Note: if you want details about the final episode (or to discuss spoilers) take it to this accompanying po…. My purpose here is to give my final thoughts of the series after having watched all 12 episodes, […]

  3. Gel Says:

    OH YEAH man this series is beyond awesome!
    So elegant an exploration of so many themes, like moe slice of life shows, for one, and and, so so many things. I mean, people dislike this because of ADD every episode was ultra moody and the violence is so cathartic and i´s just so karmic and tragic and terrifying. The idea of finding-losing yourself within a narrative, within a history, the dynamics of power in this world (with the powerfull lines spoken by the elder bairns during the series)
    The sort of incestious tension between Saya and her “father” resulting in one of the most violent and powerful animated duels in recent memory…
    It really reminds me of twin peaks, it´s particularily beautiful how they integrated the coffee-guimauve consumption lol.
    Saya, like Odin, has to lose an eye to gain greater awareness (althought she should be able to regenerate it I mean, she lost half her head-brains!)
    Anyway, as always, Japan keep the cool coming, fuck the haters, do it for the love of it, as always, godspeed.

    AND THE MOVIE !!!
    LOL THE MOVIE!!!

    • Joojoobees Says:

      “Saya, like Odin, has to lose an eye to gain greater awareness”

      Nice reference. I hadn’t thought of it that way. It was unclear from the ending if she really will regenerate her eye. The last time they show her she clearly is still using the makeshift patch. I’m interested in seeing how they deal with that in the movie.

  4. Watainu Says:

    Apparently she does get her eye back too.

    Thanks for being one of the few people around who “got” this show, btw. It’s interesting how many of those who claim to want novelty in their anime really turn out to want more-of-the-same when something built a little too differently comes along. It was funny though to see a bunch of people keep watching Blood-C even though they appeared to hate it through and though. Maybe the real Shrovetide was perpetrated on the haters 🙂

    • Joojoobees Says:

      Aah, I had seen that image floating around, but didn’t realize it is promo art for the upcoming movie.

      I agree with you about people wanting something new, and then complaining when they get it. This show pushed the envelope in more than one way. I think it was really gutsy to try a storyline like this. I have seen people complain that it was poorly planned, but that is ridiculous, since everything fits together. The real issue is if people can take a mystery that doesn’t reveal itself until the very end. Personally, I like to see creators go out on a limb, and try something dangerous. I don’t even mind if it doesn’t succeed, the things that succeed are rarely dangerous. I leave you with another example of dangerous art — art that did not necessarily succeed, but that was brave enough to try something new: Les Demoiselles d’Avignon.
      Picasso - Les Demoiselles d'Avignon

  5. Sammy Says:

    Just watched the final episode and oh my god. Ughh disgusting but so freaking awesome. Now the movie will be out next year which I then will will only get watch it in 2013. *sigh*

    • Joojoobees Says:

      Yeah, that was a disturbing experience. I guess you have to give them credit for really going for it in the end, though. The shots of the hidden cameras made me want to go back and rematch, to see if I had missed some things, but I’m not sure I want to watch the intense violence again, at least not for a while.

      • Sammy Says:

        It amazes me how CLAMP can draw like this. I mean I grew up idolizing Card Captor Sakura and when I read X, I was like “woooaaah”. They are just so damn flexible.

      • Joojoobees Says:

        🙂 Yes, but I really like CLAMP’s work, so I have a tendency to get impressed by what they deliver.

  6. Sammy Says:

    Same here. 😀


  7. […] O_O (ok, now that is scary — she is seeing people brutally die and has no feeling of guilt? The Abandoned Factory anime site was right and this is my response concerning her review. The twisted works of politics […]


Comments are closed.