Summer 2011 – picks

June 11, 2011

Hello, all. As usual I do not intend to offer a comprehensive analysis of the upcoming season. For those looking for broad coverage try the sites linked at the end instead. Here I point out the shows that I think sound particularly interesting. This season there is even less that catches my eye than usual. Fortunately there are some continuing shows, and I have unwatched series waiting. I also might get ambitious and re-watch a favorite, so I can post about how wonderful it is here. For new shows I’m really only interested in two.

Kamisama no Memochou

How can I not watch this show when it tells me that “it is the only NEET thing to do”? The title translates to “God’s Memo Book”, and it is about the hikikomori, pajama-clad detective, Alice. The artwork looks pretty good, we have some mystery solving, and Taku Iwasaki is providing the music. Here is the official trailer:

Ikoku Meiro no Croisee

I have no idea what the plot is here (UPDATE: Sapphire Pyro describes it as a story of culture shock with some romance), but the artwork is great. The backgrounds are very detailed, and the setting is Paris, France in the 1800s. The trailer has the easy-going feel of an episode of Aria, the animation. The music will be supplied by Ko-ko-ya, a trio who provided music for Ristorante Paradiso. You can get another sample of their sound below.

Oh, heck, here’s one more:

Other anime previews

You can never get too much advice, right? At the very least, you might look at a couple of other sites to get a different perspective, so here they are (in no discernible order)

Regardless of what you watch this coming season, I hope you have a great Summer. Best wishes to everyone. Joojoobees out.

16 Responses to “Summer 2011 – picks”

  1. foshizzel Says:

    Nice choices! I still have no idea what I want to watch or blog just yet Sacred seven and No6 probably my two choices, then again with any season its going to be hit and miss with fans.

    • Joojoobees Says:

      No. 6 might be decent (Noitamina, SF). I’ll definitely check reviews to see what people think of it.
      Sacred 7 looks like it will have nice visuals, but it basically looks like a shounen version of a mahou shoujou series. Magical body armor release!

  2. kluxorious Says:

    I wasn’t sure about Kamisama but now I feel like it might turns out as a surprise to me, especially after I see how the character designs are from the manga. If the likeness is uncanny, it could even turns out as one of my favorite

  3. chikorita157 Says:

    Ikoku Meiro no Croisee looks kind of cute, but not sure what I’m going to blog for the summer… I know I will be watching Hanasaku Iroha and Nichijou, which I am only watching for entertainment, not blogging. I still have to see more preview posts before making the final decision, but I will most likely stick with the current stuff and finish my backlog because of vacation and spotty internet access.

    • Joojoobees Says:

      Yeah, there are several shows continuing: HanaSaku Iroha, Steins Gate, Tiger & Bunny, Blue Exorcist. I would say Hyouge Mono, but it seems the subs have been abandoned 😦


  4. It’s been awhile since I’ve heard ko-ko-ya’s stuff, so it’s good to know that they’ll be bringing out that relaxing sound once more. Really helps that one of their members is part of the Choro Club, and you can probably guess why someone like me would welcome their touches on more anime soundtracks!

    • Joojoobees Says:

      Yeah, I’m looking forward to it. I understand why big orchestral pieces can be impressive, but there is something about chamber music. I guess it seems more human. It is easier to relate to it.

  5. glothelegend Says:

    Hikikomori girls turn me on. Why that is I don’t know.

  6. abscissa Says:

    I didn’t really read thoroughly the descriptions of the animes that I’m planning to watch. I just selected them due to their nice art. My top two picks so far is Ikoku Meirono Croisee and Kami-saman Memo-chou. Then I noticed that most of the viewers will be keeping an eye on these as well.

    • Joojoobees Says:

      Obviously I agree with those picks. I also use art as a part of my basis for deciding which show to watch. The music in both of these shows also looks to be great. It is hard to know much else from the early description, except in cases when the setting sounds absolutely awful. Even then first impressions can be wrong.


  7. Those two are in my top five most anticipated shows on Summer 2011, very good! Hahaha!

    Iwasaki Taku on Kami-sama no Memochou? SWEET! Awesome music guaranteed~

    • Joojoobees Says:

      Excellent! Looking forward to discussing them with you. Yeah, good music can really make the show, so I feel pretty good about that one.


      • “Looking forward to discussing them with you.”
        = Me too!

        “I updated my list of linked Summer previews”
        = Thanks =D I didn’t read all of the available source materials though, unlike last season. But ah well, that saved me from possible headaches, haha!

    • Joojoobees Says:

      Oh, and I updated my list of linked Summer previews to check out to include yours and Hashi’s. People reading this should read Saphire Pyro’s preview, ‘cuz she reads a lot of manga and is familiar with a lot of the source material for upcoming shows!


Comments are closed.