Summer 2011 OPs – part 4 (final)

July 18, 2011

Here it is! Part Four of the 2011 OP (opening credit) collection. This will be the final installment of this series (links to earlier parts: One, Two, Three). I’m going to include here what I can of the remaining OPs of the season. Sometimes it is not possible to include a show, because I can’t track down a copy on Youtube. I’ll finish by citing my favorite OPs of the season, but really, check them out for yourself, as your taste might be quite different.

The shows covered in this post are presented in alphabetical order (not personal preference!):

  1. Dantalian no Shoka
  2. IdolM@ster
  3. Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi
  4. Manyuu Hiken-chou
  5. Nichijou (OP 2)
  6. Tiger & Bunny (OP 2)

Dantalian no Shoka

Unfortunately Dantalian no Shoka did not have an OP for the first episode, so I can’t be sure if this is the real thing, but it is a nice song, and the visuals seem to be appropriate, especially given the incorporation of photographs in the art style. BTW, The ED was freaking AWESOME!

Idol@ster

The first episode didn’t have an OP, but episode 2, gave us this. I think it is a pretty good representation of the show. Musically it is poppy Idol fluff, but, guess what, you watch this show, and you are asking for poppy Idol fluff. The animation is well-done, which is one of the selling points of the show. The OP actually ties in to the second episode, in that they receive these costumes just in time for them to be used in the new OP.

Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi (A Black Rabbit has 7 Lives)

Well, if that gave you the impression that this is a fan-service show with some fantasy action, you got the point. Musically this is the same kind of thing we have heard in hundreds of shows. It was competent, but utterly forgettable. Visually we got to see a little bit of what struck me as the most interesting aspect of the show: the color palette, which features a lot of vivid colors.

Manyuu Hiken-chou

I was actually curious about this one, because I like historical settings and samurai and such. It might have turned out to be a decent little music video featuring samurai. Musically this song, despite not being great, is probably better than this series deserves. Unfortunately, though not quite as bad as I am sure the series is (all reviews of it I have seen absolutely denounce it as worthless), this OP just isn’t worth bothering with. The character designs are hideous, the action is uninspired, and the animation is cheap. Most of the OP is panning over essentially still shots. Those “action” scenes that are shown, make it look like the approach to fight scenes will be a still shot of people leaping and screaming. If I saw this and had been considering watching the show, I would change my mind.

Nichijou (OP 2)

Wow. That’s lively. I would have to say the visuals are well-done, and are a decent match to the frenetic pace of the music. I can’t really see myself listening to that music for pleasure, but I appreciate that it was well-crafted. The intensity of the OP is a good indicator of the style of the show, in the sense that you never really know what is about to happen. I dropped the first season after a few episodes, because the humor wasn’t working for me, but this does remind me that the show had very good production values, so I’m happy I watched it. (By the way, if you are wondering what is meant by “good animation”, compare this one to the Manyuu Hiken-chou video).

Tiger & Bunny (OP 2)

Musically this is an okay rock number. The only part I really like about it is the lead guitar just before the vocals kick in. Visually, I actually liked the first OP more.

Final Thoughts

Well, as I said when I started out, this was an experiment. I wanted to try something new for the new season, and, being a one-man-shop, I couldn’t be overly ambitious. It was fun to try to cover a lot more of the season in some way, and it gave me more of an appreciation for the variety of shows, some of whose OPs I would never have bothered watching, since I wasn’t going to bother watching the series itself.

Out of the shows included in this (fourth) collection, I would have to say the Dantalian no Shoka OP (assuming it is legit) was the most moving, musically, although it doesn’t have much visual impact. The Nichijou OP was the most impressive package (that is taking the visuals and the music together), although, I am more likely to listen to the Dantalian no Shoka OP on my iPod.

What follows is my PERSONAL favorites of the Summer 2011 season OPs (that is across all of the shows I included in all four parts). My main criteria is the iPod inclusion test (do I think I would like to have it on my iPod), so it stresses music over visuals. Note: this list IS presented in order of my personal favorites.

  1. Mawaru Penguin Drum: Nornir by Etsuko Yakushimaru (unfortunately no valid Youtube links are left, but you can give a listen by checking out the Emory Anime Club’s review). (UPDATE: Thanks to Tsuki for the link!).
  2. Blood-C:Spiral by Dustz (This one really grew on me).
  3. Dantalian no Shoka:Cras Numquam Scire by Yucca
  4. Kami-sama Dolls: Fukanzen Nunshou by Chiaki Ishikawa
  5. Yuru Yuri:Yuriyurarararayuruyuri Daijiken by Nanamori Chu☆Goraku Bu (What can I say? Silly fun that works well on a treadmill).

Well, everyone, I hope you enjoyed the music!

4 Responses to “Summer 2011 OPs – part 4 (final)”

  1. Tsuki Says:

    Hrm, I didn’t notice Dantalian’s OP was out. It sounds cool, though I’d like to see it in an actual episode to confirm.

    Kamisama dolls OP is probably my fav though, mainly for it’s exotic sound to it. Kudos to Chiaki Ishikawa for her work here.

    Oh, by the way, here’s a youtube link to a working Mawaru OP: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KgN7pL7Mf4

    • Joojoobees Says:

      On Dantalian, both the OP (assuming it is real) and the ED seem darker than the majority of the first episode, so the series might get darker to match.

      Thanks for the link! I hope people listen to the Mawaru Penguin Drum track, because it is a great song.

      Regarding Kami-sama Dolls, I like that one a lot. It lost out to Blood-C because I found myself mentally humming the Blood-C OP a few times. After a while I decided that I must really like it.

  2. foshizzel Says:

    I like that video and song for Idolmaster not bad! The animation for the dances is kind of cool xD

    Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi- Song is alright visuals are great just like the series I like seeing all the random characters.

    Nichijou OP2- So fun! Love the song and video always makes me smile, much like the first one this would be my favorite so far.

    • Joojoobees Says:

      re: IdolM@ster – well done animation, interesting ideas for incorporating the concepts of on-stage / back-stage dynamics. Sells the show well. Music is what it should be for the series. Not my kind of music, or a particularly great example of the genre, but it works for its purpose.

      The Nichijou visuals are great, and there is much more thought put into it than most OPs this season. Musically it is very clever as well. I think, if I were to watch the show, I wouldn’t skip over it, but it failed the theoretical iPod test for me. It is clever, but not really something I would want to walk around listening to.


Comments are closed.